Sunday, January 11, 2015

Thames (NZ): Thames Sport photos in the papers 1929-1930

A selection of sports photos that appeared in the Auckland newspapers 1929-30.
THAMES RUGBY REPS 1930: REPS SECOND CANTER.—The Thames team photographed on arrival this morning for their game against Auckland at Eden Park this afternoon. Back row, from left: Mr. Baker (Auckland Rugby Union), B...utler, Buchan, Goudie, White, Brunton, Strange, Morrison, Strange, Dovell, Pollock, J. Percy, Estcourt. Front row: Mr. McDonald (selector), Dufty, Lomas, Ake, Mr. Vedder (manager), Percy, Moran, Arthur, Edwards.
Source: Auckland Star, Volume LXI, Issue LXI, 12 July 1930, Page 9

Sadly Thames were swamped and lost 3 to 40 to Auckland.


THAMES HIGH SCHOOL Basketball 1929: Go Thames!
INTER-SCHOOL BASKETBALL MATCH IN THE WAIKATO. Fast play in the annual game between Thames High School and Hamilton High School at Hamilton.
Source: New Zealand Herald, 30 July 1929, Page 6 Ppast

BIG PARACHUTE DESCENT. Captain Jonassen (left), of Thames, prior to making a descent of 3000 ft. from an aeroplane at the Hawke's Bay Aero Club's pageant.
New Zealand Herald, Volume LXVII, Issue 20520, 22 March 1930, Page 8

Thames Cup winner, Tony Victor, should not be looking for favors m the Flying Handicap at the Forbury Benefit Meeting.
NZ Truth , Issue 1279, 5 June 1930, Page 15

COUNTRY WEEK HOCKEY MATCHES COMMENCED AT AUCKLAND: INCIDENTS OF YESTERDAY'S GAMES AT THE REMUERA GROUNDS. Left: Keen action in the Thames (white) versus Waikato girls' match won by the former. Right: The Piako goalkeeper endeavouring to kick clear from a hot attack by one of the members of the opposing Waipa team. Waipa won by seven goals to one
New Zealand Herald, Volume LXVII, Issue 20616, 15 July 1930, Page 6

IMPORTANT HOCKEY EVENT AT THAMES.—The visit of the Australian hockey team to the Thames, marks the first occasion on which an international side in any sport has played there. This is the Thames- Hauraki team. Front row (left to right): L. Candy, E. O'Carroll, R. Menzies (captain), Shirley Crawford-Watson (mascot), L. Crawford-Watson (president), A. Brokenshire, C. Laurence. Middle row: H. Candy, B. Miller, H. Kirby, T. Field (selector), H. G. Brownlee, L. Griffin. Back row: G. Buchan, H. Hale, T. O'Carroll. Absent: G. Hays (selector), A. Campbell.
Auckland Star, Volume lx, Issue 186, 8 August 1929, Page 16

No comments:

Post a Comment